Robert Ivy: Recent Recipient Of The Noel Polk Award

Robert Ivy has been the Chief Executive Officer of the American Institute of Architects since 2011. Robert Ivy is the recipient of the Crane award and was named Master Architect by Alpha Rho Chi, a fraternity for architecture. Ivy has also been praised for his writings, such as Fay Jonees: Architect. Most recently, Ivy was awarded the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award is given to artists typically; Ivy is the first architect to ever receive the honor.

“As a writer, author and commentator on architecture worldwide,” said the President of MIAL, the organization that awards the Noel Polk Award. “CEO of AIA, Robert Ivy now takes his rightful place in the list of Noel Polk Award honorees.”

The Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters give the Noel Polk Award to individuals who have made progress for the State of Mississippi. To qualify for the award, a person must have a career long resume of beneficial actions for Mississippi. Ivy’s architecture has literally changed Mississippi over the years.

Follow Robert Ivy on Linkedin

Who is Robert Ivy?

Prior to joining AIA, Robert Ivy worked at McGraw-Hill, serving in their construction subdivision as Editing Director. Dozen of magazines were produced under the guidance of Ivy during his time at McGraw-Hill.

Architectural Record, one of the magazines published by McGraw-Hill, was honored many times for its articles and publications. One of the awards given to the magazine was the National Magazine Award for General Excellence. Ivy also lead the company in expanding the magazine to other parts of the world, translating the magazine to Mandarin.

At Tulane University Ivy received a Masters in Architecture. He also holds a Bachelor of Arts in English, which he received from Sewanee: The University of the South. Tulane University is located in New Orleans, Louisiana; The University of the South is located in Sewanee, Tennessee.

Read more: Robert Ivy to receive Lifetime Achievement Award